Atoms for Peace is Thom Yorke (Radiohead), Nigel Godrich (Radiohead), Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Mauro Refosco (Brazilian percussionist) and Joey Waronker (drums). Do I have your attention yet? I thought so. The last we saw this collaboration was during Thom Yorke’s 2006 solo tour for his album “Erasure.” The star studded band will release a new album called “Amok” later this month. After working together on tour the members formed a creative bond that remained long after which is how Atoms for Peace was born. In 3 days the band compiled a collection of songs that are patiently waiting to shock music lovers everywhere.

The new single, “Judge Jury and the Executioner” is only a taste of what to expect on the new record. The band stated that each song will have it’s own unique flare. The opening single is a melodic collage beautifully topped off by Thom Yorke’s ageless voice. In an incredible interview with NPR, Nigel Godrich talked about the creative process behind the upcoming release. “It was just jams, and the art was in the editing and putting things together. It’s a way of getting musicians to bring out the best in people.”

I was able to hear snippets from the new album and can safely say “Amok” will probably be one of the best albums of the year. It’s a fantastic combination of electronic music and rock rhythms. The unexpected band that shocked audiences with their collective sound on tour are ready to give you more. Based on what I’ve heard it is worth the 7 year wait. I’m excited!