Pet Shop Boys will release a brand new b-sides compilation on February 6th, 2012, on Parlophone. Entitled "Format", it celebrates the duo's prolific song-writing and recording by collecting 38 b-sides and bonus tracks originally released on singles from 1996 to 2009.

The album will be available digitally and on double-CD. All tracks have been remastered and the CD booklet features an interview with Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe by Jon Savage (author of "England's Dreaming" and "Teenage").  Design is by Farrow.

"Format" follows on from the 1995 release, "Alternative", which collected the duo's b-sides from 1985 to 1994.  Pet Shop Boys are currently working on their 11th studio album, which is due for release in early autumn next year.

The full "Format" track-listing is after the jump.


1. The truck driver and his mate

2. Hit and miss

3. In the night (1995)

4. Betrayed

5. How I learned to hate rock 'n' roll

6. Discoteca (New Version)

7. The calm before the storm

8. Confidential (Demo for Tina)

9. The boy who couldn't keep his clothes on

10. Delusions of grandeur

11. The view from your balcony

12. Disco potential

13. Silver age

14. Screaming

15. The ghost of myself

16. Casting a shadow

17. Lies

18. Sexy Northerner



1. Always

2. Nightlife

3. Searching for the face of Jesus

4. Between two islands

5. Friendly fire

6. We're the Pet Shop Boys

7. Transparent

8. I didn't get where I am today

9. The Resurrectionist

10. Girls don't cry

11. In private (7-inch mix): Pet Shop Boys with Elton John

12. Blue on blue

13. No time for tears (7-inch mix)

14. Bright young things

15. Party song

16. We're all criminals now

17. Gin and Jag

18. After the event

19. The former enfant terrible

20. Up and down

Pet Shop Boys will also be performing at this year's New Year's Eve celebrations in Sydney, Australia. For this exclusive, one-off concert, the entire Pandemonium production will be presented for the first time in Australia. Pet Shop Boys will be on stage for 90 minutes at Glebe Island from 7.30 pm.